The Best Pizza I’ve Ever Made.

19 Jun

I have a serious love for homemade pizza. It’s my opportunity to take care of all my savory cravings in one meal. Usually, it involves bacon. Who am I kidding – it ALWAYS involves bacon! Homemade pizza comes out of my kitchen about 2-3/month, especially on the weekends alongside a bottle of red wine. Perfection to me.

Dan and I are pretty deep into our first CSA summer. We’ve been loving the goods from Clarion River Organics but holy moly it’s hard to keep up sometimes. A bit too much food for a couple that still enjoys a few restaurant meals each week. However, the challenge of cooking with new ingredients has been really exciting.

Image

On Sunday, I pulled fennel, kale, garlic scapes, young red onions, and a few other things out of the bag. My first thought: WTF am I gonna do with these young red onions. My second thought: let’s make a gameplan. If you’re going to go through all these veggies, you need to map out the week’s dinners to make sure to optimize all your goods. 

Below is the menu for the week. While I’ve only crossed off two of the 4.5 items, I just have to gush about the pizza I made last night. So sorry I didn’t take a photo. It was truly restaurant-worthy.

Sunday: Penne pasta with pancetta, fontina & mozzarella, fennel bulbs, onion, and tomatoes. Result: delicious. Great leftovers for our lunches this week.

Monday: Homemade pizza with bacon, caramelized spring onions, fennel, left over fontina cheese PLUS a grilled wedge salad with romain, bacon, blue cheese, and cracked pepper. Result: Completely delicious. I actually was super proud of myself. That pizza…I’m still dreaming about the pizza. HOLY YUM. 

Tuesday: Tonight, we’re going to go with lettuce wraps. We have an abundance of lettuce and greens in the house – gotta use it up!

Wednesday: Dining out

Thursday: Gnocchi with sweet potatoes, red kale, sage, and a little cheese. Pretty excited about this!

You’ll notice garlic scapes are MIA from this menu. We also got them last week and I fell in love with garlic scape pesto. It’s tangy, little sweet, and fresh. I plan to make another batch of the pesto, but throw it in the freezer this time. It’ll be nice to enjoy a little summer treat when we’re seeing snow out the window 🙂

Happy cooking, friends!

 

Leave a Reply

